A catch up with Derek Allen and news about his new band Lower Automation

 

Official Facebook For Lower Automation

Official Website for Lower Automation

Official Twitter for Lower Automation

Official Instagram for Lower Automation

As people remember I interviewed Derek Allen in 2014 when he was in the band Counterfeit I. This interview can be viewed on MARSocial. In this interview we get an insight into Derek’s new band Lower Automation.

Tell us about your new band Lower Automation?

In the spring of 2015, I started writing the songs that found their way into ‘Maps.’ We recorded the EP with Sanford Parker in Chicago last summer. Matt and Brain joined shortly thereafter. In the next few months we started playing and touring, and we put out ‘Maps’ back in April.

Is the sound different from that of Counterfeit I?

I think so. It’s a lot more aggressive and maybe more technical. Much more punk and hardcore influenced.

14334729_1232946770083282_481036273_n

What made you change direction?

I realized about six months prior to starting the songs that I was really itching to make something fast and aggressive. When the other two members of Counterfeit I, I had to stop touring. It just felt like a good time to start something new.

Have you got any upcoming gigs?

Yeah, some Illinois shows in the next month, and we’re heading out on another tour at the end of October. All the dates are here:

http://lowerautomation.com/?page_id=12

or via Facebook.

It must of been hard to go back to scratch and regain exposure again?

It’s actually just been a lot of fun. We’ve been playing way more and gotten a much better response than I anticipated.

Is Counterfeit I no more?

I believe so. I’ve been working on some electronic/experimental things, but I’m not sure yet when or how that will be released.

Do you have songs in process or have been made?

We have an EP out that you can check out here:

https://lowerautomation.bandcamp.com/releases

We’re in the process of getting some new songs together. Hopefully we’ll record them this winter.

Author: Helen Ingram

Self Published author, artist, interviewer and owner of New Art United