An interview with Julyah Rose

 

juliaolive11320

Tell us about your journey so  far

My name is Julyah Rose; I am an international model, actress, and singer. I was born in Elizabeth, New Jersey, a suburb of Manhattan, New York City.  I grew up in a very large extended family in New Jersey, my mom was one of 5 children, and my father was one of 8 children.

I knew since I was a child that being a performing arts star was one of my major life’s goals.  I used to tell my parents as a kid that I wanted to go to Manhattan to be a child actor; I used to walk around Manhattan, admiring the fashion and glamour of it all. No one really took me seriously as a child saying I was going to be a big star one day because a lot of kids say that and the chance of actually making it as a model or actress or singer I think is like 1 in 1 million.

Despite having an unusual and difficult childhood I always preserved and worked towards accomplishing my goal. I told myself that whatever happened in my life I wouldn’t let any obstacles deter me from achieving my dream.

When I was 14 my family moved to a remote rural cattle farm in Arizona on the border of Mexico, there weren’t really any resources there for me to work on my career, so all I wanted was to get out of that small town to bigger opportunities. We lived on a dirt road and dug a 400ft well to access water; I woke up at 5 am and rode my bike a mile down the road to catch the school bus which was then an hour ride to school. I always kept my dreams in mind and never gave up, I worked hard in school and graduated at the top 5% of my class with a 4.2 GPA and won several scholarships to Arizona State University in Phoenix, Arizona, that was my ticket to bigger opportunities.  While in college I was accepted to a prestigious program to study abroad in Florence Italy, while studying abroad, earning my International Business Certificate, I began working with Italian fashion photographers to develop my portfolio, including Fabrizio Romagnoli, a famous Italian fashion photographer who published my photos on the Vogue Italia website.

Upon returning to Arizona, I signed with Courtier Model Management in Phoenix Arizona. I graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Communications in May 2014.

The day after graduation I moved to New York City to pursue my modeling, acting, and singing career full time. The first year living in New York was rough but as I began to become more recognized in the New York City fashion scene things got a bit easier. In the fall of 2015 I signed with one of New York’s most reputable fashion agencies Fenton Model Management. I have walked in New York Fashion Week for the past three years. Even though I’ve come all this way I am still just at the beginning of my modeling career and now I’m looking to expand full scale into singing and acting as well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You seem to be a creative in many areas, acting, singing, and fashion modeling. What is it that brought you to want to be in these industries?

I knew from a young age that I was talented as an artist and that I wanted to go into a career in the arts. I never wanted to have a 9-5 office job because it felt too constricting to me. I think that modeling is not necessarily a separate entity from acting or singing, I think different art forms can bleed into each other. In addition to acting I also have produced two short independent films, so I am also a cinematographer and filmmaker.

What was your first creative industry?

My first creative industry was modeling, that is still my main career but now I am also expanding into acting and singing, as well as filmmaking.

Are you academically taught in your acting and singing?

Yes, in both, I began doing Community Theater and choir as a child and I continued up throughout the college level at Arizona State University where I participated in college choir as well as took classes in film, acting, and theater.

What is your singing style?

My singing style is my own original style, but I take pieces of inspiration from singers like Janis Joplin, Whitney Houston, Adele, Stevie Nicks. My singing is jazzy and soulful with pop accents. I am currently working on my first album, my current goal is to sign with a record label and find the right people to collaborate with and help me to record my album.

Have you had any acting experience over the years?

I have acted both in theater and in film. In college I did student films then professionally I’ve acted and produced two of my own independent short art films. I’ve been in music videos as a model/actress and some commercials and also I’ve done some comedy videos as I am also interested in performing comedy.  I just recently received news that I will be playing a lead role in an upcoming TV series “AfterParty” to begin filming this fall in New York. My current goal as an actress is to sign with a reputable acting agent based in LA or New York; I also would like to pursue membership in the Screen Actors Guild.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Have you had many down times throughout the years?

Yes, I’ve had many down times, it’s really been a struggle, and even though I’m making progress it’s an uphill battle. There have been times where I went home at the end of the day and cried myself to sleep because I was so discouraged.

Fashion modeling has been known in the press for portraying an ideal form and wanting people to change. Can you explain why models have to look a certain way?

I think that people should try to look as close to the ideal as they can because it’s generally the healthiest, fittest way to be. Of course I didn’t wake up one day and have a model body, I did a lot of working out and eating healthy to get there, it took a lot of work, anything worth having won’t come easy. But striving to be as close to the ideal form is a good lesson for people in health and self discipline and people will feel better and more confident when they are their healthiest best self.

Models also have to have measurements within an inch or so of the standard because designers make sample clothing in one size so just for practicality the models should be able to fit in the clothes. Everything in the industry is standardized.

Is fashion modeling as glamorous as people see in adverts and on the catwalk?

No, it’s defiantly not as glamorous as it seems. There are many glamorous aspects of our lives like going out to parties in limos and getting VIP access to the best restaurants and clubs, hanging out with celebrities, travel, wearing beautiful clothes. But there is a dark side too. A modeling career is a very tough career, you can’t really trust anyone, many people try to rip you off, use you, you don’t have anyone but yourself in a huge city like New York. It’s gritty, you have to be a tough person, you have to be assertive and headstrong and keep going for your goal despite countless rejection.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What fashion designers have you worked with over the years?

Fashion Clients:

Cocco Bella Boutique in Fall 2014 New York Fashion Week
Nike
Jurjis Jarvis in Fall 2016 New York Fashion Week
Jorge Artega in Fall 2015 and 2016 New York Fashion Week
Fillet de Juin Handbags
Replica

New York Korean Fashion Festival 2014 and 2016

Harley Davidson Clothing Line New York Fashion Week Spring 2016

Ed Hardy Fall 2016 New York Fashion Week
Cosmetics and hair clients:
Gucci Bamboo Perfume

Mac Cosmetics
Oribe Haircare
Amika
Bumble and Bumble
Tigi Bedhead
Wella
Millbon Japan

Arrojo

Do you have a favourite clothing style?

Well I usually try to go for a “simple clean elegant and classy” I figure you can’t go wrong with that. I like to dress up a bit, I don’t like the overly casual era, especially in America, I wish formality would come back in style.  I like blouses with expensive fabric and minimal jewelry, nice boots and maybe skinny jeans for the day and by night heals and a short skirt or cocktail dress.

What’s your favourite accessory?

I love Louis Vuitton Bags and Michael Kors watches, I also like gold chain necklaces.

Do you personally follow fashion trends or do your own thing?
I prefer to do my own thing and try to go with something classic so it’s timeless.

What would be your advice to any teenager or young adult who feels they have to be a certain way to fit in?

Well you’re probably not a very original person in the first place if you feel that you have to fit in. I always knew I was different, I wore my own style in high school and fashion sense wasn’t very well accepted in a rural Arizona town, kids made fun of me but it didn’t bother me.   I knew who I was and what my goals were all along, no one could ever convince me any differently.  People also laughed at Christopher Columbus when he said the world wasn’t flat.

Where do you see yourself in a few years time?

I see myself emerging as a major top model in New York City over the next few years, my goal is to be a supermodel, I also hope to work abroad in London, Tokyo, Paris, and travel to many other places. I hope to have many magazine covers over the next few years.
I also hope to release my singing album and get signed to a record label as well as to do some major acting projects like a TV series or major release feature film; I also hope to be signed to a prestigious acting agent in New York City and LA.

Have you got any upcoming fashion shots, current press and magazine or catwalks planned?

Currently, I just finished doing New York Fashion Week.  This fall I’ve been focused on getting into fitness modeling more heavily.  I’m also currently in a phase where I’ve been wanting to shoot a lot of lingerie modeling, and I’m looking into the possibility of traveling to Miami in the winter to concentrate on swimsuit modeling.  Of course I’ll also be filming the new TV series “After Party” this fall as a lead character.

I was also interviewed by Fashion Times Magazine earlier this spring
http://www.fashiontimes.com/articles/25535/20160311/fenton-model-managements-julyah-rose-10-questions-for-our-model-of-the-moment.htm

Where can people find you on the internet?
The best way to keep up with me is through my Instagram and Twitter
@ModelJulyahRose

Links to my art films

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Chfl9Domwzk  “Song of Silence” A Film by Julyah Rose

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tfd3pEOy-hA “Prison” A Film by Julyah Rose
I can also be booked for modeling through my agency Fenton Model Management
http://www.fentonmodels.com/Image/Women/933937/julyah

Author: Helen Ingram

Self Published author, artist, interviewer and owner of New Art United